RSS

Opponent no more – Maidana wows to make history

26 Aug
Photo by Paul Hernandes

Photo by Paul Hernandes

 

Hard punching brawler from Argentine, Marcos Maidana was brought to United States in 2009 to be an opponent for fast rising American star, “Vicious” Victor Ortiz. El Chino was seconds away from becoming just that (an opponent) during his July 27th collision with Ortiz at the famed Staples Center in Los Angeles. Down once in the first and twice in the second stanza, hard as a cobble-stone Maidana kept getting up and fighting back and by the sixth round he made a lot of fans in United States when he forced Victor Ortiz to quit the contest.

Still, in spite of his ever growing popularity and all out aggressive, crowd pleasing style, Maidana had to play the role of an opponent on many occasions, such as his encounter with Amir Khan in 2010 or his welterweight debut against Devon Alexander in 2012. Maidana’s best performance as an opponent took place in December of last year in San Antonio Texas when he faced off with then considered by most Mayweather apparent, Adrien Broner. Heavy underdog, El Chino could care less about the odds. He stunned the boxing world by mopping the floor with young rising star, dropping him twice during the fight and registering the most impressive victory of his career up to date.

“I’m going to make history September 13th,” said Maidana (35-4,31KO’S) during recent international telephone conference. Still an opponent, Maidana is scheduled to face, for the second time this year, pound for pound best, Floyd “Money “Mayweather (46-0,26KO’S). Twelve rounds WBC welterweight championship contest will be televised live by Showtime PPV from the Mecca of Boxing, MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Maidana earned this gig by stunning the boxing world once again in May of this year when he gave Mayweather Jr. all he could handle in their first encounter. El Chino lost by split decision, but Floyd had to dig real deep and a self proclaimed the best ever knew he was in a fight of his life. Despite a great performance and a split decision in their first fight Maidana is still a heavy underdog in the upcoming rematch. Experts and odds makers alike simply do not believe that Maidana could do any better or that he could get a decision against Mayweather in Las Vegas. “I think I can win by decision or by knockout,” said Maidana who has proven experts wrong on more than one occasion:” We had a split decision and I feel I just have to make a few adjustments. My distance control wasn’t great. I smothered my punches. I’m not sure I ever really hurt him. This time I’ll keep my distance.”

Marcos Maidana had a lot of success especially early on their first bout by forcing Floyd Mayweather to stand and fight. Floyd said he did that to make fans happy. Some believe Mayweather’s 37 year old legs played a major part in that strategy.

“Age has nothing to do with him standing and fighting with me in the first fight,” said Maidana:” I hope he does it again. I think I forced him to fight and that’s the reason he fought that way. I don’t think he did it for the fans. I hope Mayweather will fight like a man and stand in front of me again. He says he wants to please the fans, so we’ll see.”

Just like most experts Maidana knows how hard it is to earn a decision against Mayweather in Las Vegas. He has to score a knock out to win. “It’s very difficult to knock out Floyd because he runs,” continued Maidana:”But I’ll do my best to make it happen. This fight, I’m not going to respect him. I’m going to go after him and make him fight. I’m going to keep pressuring him. When I did that in the last fight, I did very well. Come the 8th or 9th round, Mayweather is going to be so tired from punches; he won’t be able to defend anymore.”

Another major reason for Maidana’s success in their first encounter was that he was able to make it a very physical and at times a very rough and borderline dirty affair for Mayweather.The Money man complained about it all the way to the bank and continued to complain throughout the press tour promoting their rematch. Floyd had a few choice words about El Chino’s dirty tactics, such as calling him a UFC fighter.

“There are things he does in there too. He should stop complaining, “replied Maidana, 31: “Stop crying like a little bitch and fight.” Let’s hope they will do just that on September 13th.

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
