RSS

Mercito Gesta is masterful in debut for Top Rank

12 Jul

Photo by Dr Ed De La Vega

Fighting for the first time under promotional banner of Top Rank, local lightweight contender Mercito “No Mercy” Gesta impressed every one in attendance at The Home Depot Center last Saturday night with a spectacular third round knock out over Mexican, Jorge Pimentel. Twenty three year old Mercito displayed skills and ring smarts worthy of a veteran fighter, knocking down his opponent in every round and finally convincing the referee to end the massacre. His speed agility and power were just too much to handle for Pimentel.

 

With so many weapons in his war chest, I asked Mercito which one was his best? “ For me , may be my right hook,” replied Gesta ( 22-0-1,12KO’S) : “ But I always study my opponent in the first round, always study what’s the best thing that I am going to do and what combination connects, and that’s my best asset is to study my opponent.” Young fighter fromSan Diegomust be a quick study, because he had his adversary figured out and tasting the canvas in the very first round.

 

Mercito was very happy to sign with a leading promotional company, Top Rank and when I asked him to grade his debut performance said: “I think I am “A” tonight, because I did well. I know my opponent is not really the best, but I still respect him, the way he fights. I am still careful in there because you don’t know what’s going to happen in the fight. I follow our game plan and dominate the fight and the result is good.”

http://www.examiner.com/boxing-in-glendale-ca/mercito-gesta-is-masterful-debut-for-top-rank-1

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 12, 2011 in Professional Boxing

 

Leave a Reply

 
