RSS

Rios blasts out Antillon in a thriller

11 Jul

Photo by Miguel Salazar

On a warm summer night in Southern California two locomotives, full steam ahead, collided in the ring producing fire and explosions. And when the dust settled after three of the most breathtaking rounds I have ever seen live, Brandon “Bam Bam” Rios knocked out Urbano Antillon and thus defended his WBA lightweight title at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California.  Approximately thirty five hundred in attendance went wild from the opening bell and they stayed hysterical throughout the fight. Referee David Mendoza stopped the contest at 2:49 of the third stanza when after two knock downs Urbano was reeling around the ring, not knowing where he was. “That left hook caught me on the top of the head and it devastated me,” said Antillon (28-3, 20 KOs):“I was never the same after the first knock down. Rios punches very hard. I just got caught and I was never able to recover.”

 “Antillon was a hell of a fighter at one time,” said Rios (28-0-1,20KO’S) at the post fight press conference:” But not this time. I am young. I am hungrier, more powerful. I am going to the top. Any body out there at 135, I am inviting you right now.”

http://www.examiner.com/boxing-in-glendale-ca/rios-blasts-out-antillon-a-thriller

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 11, 2011 in Professional Boxing

 

Leave a Reply

 
