RSS

Williams to face Cintron this Saturday in L. A.

05 May

Photo by Ray Flores

Two fighters that have a hard time finding opponents, Paul “ The Punisher “ Williams and Kermit “The Killer” Cintron will duke it out in the ring on Saturday night, May 8th at the Home Depot Center in Carson California.

The twelve round light middleweight contest will be televised by HBO.Tickets are very reasonable and are still available at the Ticketmaster as well as Home Depot Center Box Office.

When asked what it would take for other top fighters to fight him, Cintron stated: “I think it’s going to take the media and the networks. You all have the pens and the microphones. When you see guys fight and you’re talking about fights they should take you never mention my name. I think the media and the networks will have to start pushing those guys to fight the biggest and best fights and to fight someone who’s going to put up a fight.”

“Paul Williams and I are not here for the money, “continued Cintron (32-2-1, 28KO’S):” We’re trying to fight the best and be the best. I believe Paul Williams is the best and he believes I’m the best and that’s why we’re fighting. A lot of fighters are avoiding us but my attitude is to fight the best. To be the best you have to fight the best. That’s why I’m here: To fight the best and win. And be closer to the bigger fights.”

In what must have been the best win of his career, a year ago in Florida, Cintron out boxed very tough, then undefeated Mexican prospect Alfredo Angulo. Despite a defining victory Cintron could not secure another good fight until now, while Angulo was featured on HBO several times since. When asked how he felt about that, Citron replied:” It is what it is. I’m not going to cry about it. I know I beat his ass and I just move forward in my career. I’m just looking forward to May 8 and putting on a good show.”

Kermit Cintron might have to eat his words, because should he loose on May 8th, the only option for him would be to rematch Angulo who is loved by HBO for his aggressive all out brawling style.

For now, however, Cintron has to face the most avoided man in boxing, two time welterweight and super welterweight champion, Paul Williams. According to Las Vegas bookmakers, Williams is a heavy betting favorite (six to one favorite), but he is not overlooking his opponent.

“(Kermit’s) a big puncher and can box too. I’ve shown that I’m a big puncher and I’m a boxer too,” said Williams during this weeks telephone conference: “I don’t have to prove anything to anyone. I don’t care what people think about me as a fighter. I just have to go out and do my thing. I just have to go out and execute my game plan and my strategy. Because you could be looking for one thing then get another thing.”

Overshadowed by a super fight in Las Vegas between Mayweather and Mosley only a week prior, Williams vs. Cintron is a great match up that should provide a lot more excitement to the fans in Los Angeles. Paul’s trainer and confidant George Peterson took a verbal jab at the welterweight showdown in Las Vegas: “I think it’s going to be a fight and not a sparring match. Citron and Paul both talk about being victorious and they should be thinking in those terms. But we think on Saturday night that we will be victorious. For those who come out on Saturday night, we feel like they’re really going to enjoy the fight.”

George Peterson had a very interesting take on Floyd Mayweather trying to clean up the sport of boxing:” If it was me or Paul and there were signs that someone was on drugs I would say, give them some more drugs. We just want to fight. Regardless of anything, you can give them all the drugs they want. We just want to fight, that’s it. Paul Williams is a warrior’s fighter. If he loses he says, ‘hey, I lost.’ If he wins it’s, ‘hey, I won.’ I just believe in all that other stuff. I’m old-school. This is a new generation of boxing but I don’t believe in that. I believe if you’re a fighter let’s fight. Forget all of that other stuff.”

In lieu of Floyd’s dominating performance, should Mayweather Pacquiao not materialize, promoter Dan Goossen reminded everyone: “When everything is said and done Paul is a 147-pounder. To be the best and to be the greatest and to be No. 1 I don’t believe anyone can really say that until they get in the ring with Paul Williams. It may not be today or it may not be tomorrow but eventually Paul Williams will get his opportunity to show what we’ve been saying for the past two or three years. It will all come to fruition. So there are three welterweights that are out there today and they should all be mentioned in the same breath and that’s Pacquiao, Mayweather and Williams.”

“I think you’re going to see fireworks on Saturday night on both sides, “said Lou DiBella, Cintron’s promoter:” I do expect a barnburner. Truly, anyone can win this fight and that’s what boxing is all about. It’s about guys trying to entertain. Both these guys take and throw big blows. Both these guys know how to box and both these guys are warriors.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2010 in Professional Boxing

 

Leave a Reply

 
